Conferral of the Benjamin Franklin Medal to Professor Adrian Bejan in recognition of his complex activity



Professor Adrian Bejan, J.A. Jones Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Duke University, North Carolina, USA, Honorary Member of the Romanian Academy, Science Section, Deputy Editor-in-Chief of the Stomatology Edu Journal, has been awarded the 2018 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Mechanical Engineering.

Professor Bejan has come to prominence by "his pioneering interdisciplinary contributions in thermodynamics and convection heat transfer that have improved the performance of engineering systems, and for his constructal theory, which predicts natural design and its evolution in engineering, scientific, and social systems".

Professor Bejan joins the other seven 2018 laureates of the prestigious Franklin Institute Awards, personalities whose breakthroughs have contributed significantly to transforming our world into their own fields, have helped improve the lives of billions of people around the world by paving the way for a future better.

Since its foundation in 1824 the Franklin Institute has acknowledged and publicly encouraged the remarkable achievements in science and technology of Nikola Tesla, Marie and Pierre Curie, Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein, Stephen Hawking, Jane Goodall and Bill Gates. Up to now, in its124 years of existence, 118 of the Franklin Institute members have been honored with the Nobel Prize.

The Franklin Institute's Award Ceremony and Dinner are the culmination of a series of events and programs organized over the course of a week to capitalize on the advancements in science and technology as well as an extraordinary business leadership. In addition to the series of events and symposia organized during the week, public and educational programs are designed to allow direct and unprecedented access to laureates.

In order to honor its new 2018 laureates, the Franklin Institute decided to hold an event on April 19, 2018 celebrating the tremendous impact on science, technology and business leadership these pioneers have had through their exceptional achievements.

M-V Constantinescu

DDS, PhD Editor-in-Chief

DOI: 10.25241/stomaeduj.2017.4(4).news.1